Call Us830-769-1010

1112 Oak Street, Jourdanton, TX 78026

Atascosa County Weapons Charges Attorneys

Wilson County gun violation defense attorney

Lawyers for Firearm Violations, Including Unlawful Carrying of a Gun in Frio County and Wilson County

In Texas, any person who is at least 18 years old and not a convicted felon may own a firearm. To buy a handgun from a licensed dealer, you must be at least 21 years old. With the completion of a training course, you can receive a license to carry (LTC), which you may utilize openly if the pistol is secured in a belt or shoulder holster.

While Texas maintains gun-friendly laws when compared to many states, it also features serious penalties for firearm violations. If you face a weapons charge, it is imperative you contact a skilled criminal defense attorney immediately. Like all Texans, at Barrera, Cavazos & Powers, we value the 2nd Amendment and the rights it provides. Our attorneys include judges and former prosecutors who are available 24/7 to fight for the rights of gun owners. 

Gun Crimes in Texas

There are limitations as to who can carry a gun and where they may do so. Misdemeanor and felony gun charges in Texas include:

  • Unlawful Carrying of Weapons: Charged when someone carries a weapon while in commission of a crime other than a Class C misdemeanor.
  • Unlawful Possession of a Firearm: Occurs when a person possesses a gun within five years of a felony conviction, or release from community supervision following a felony offense or family violence incident.
  • Unlawful Discharge of Firearm: When an individual fires a gun either in a public place or across a public roadway.
  • Possession of Prohibited Weapon: These include automatic weapons (machine guns), short-barrel firearms (sawed-off shotguns), armor-piercing ammunition, non-relic silencers, and zip guns.
  • Unlawful Transfer of Certain Weapons: The sale, rental, lease, loan, or giving of a weapon to an individual not allowed to possess it, including convicted felons and minors under 18.
  • Unlawful Carrying of Handgun by License Holder: Charged when a person carries a weapon onto grounds where it is not allowed, as listed below.

Where Are Guns Not Allowed in Texas?

An individual (licensed or not) can be cited if they carry a weapon into a:

  • School or educational institution;
  • Airport;
  • Polling place on Election Day or during early voting;
  • Government court or related office;
  • Public location while intoxicated;
  • Bar or restaurant in which at least 51 percent of income comes from the sale of alcohol;
  • Correctional facility; or
  • Racetrack.

Other locations where possession is prohibited when posted by notice include hospitals, nursing homes, amusement parks, and places of worship. Limitations also exist on where you may carry a knife, club, or mace. 

Weapons Violation Defense

While some gun charges result from deliberate action, many stem from misunderstandings of the law or unintentional oversight. Either way, a conviction can result in significant fines, LTC or hunting license suspension, and firearm confiscation. Barrera, Cavazos & Powers will investigate the facts of your case to ensure your rights were not violated, including illegal search and seizure. You can trust we are fully prepared to pursue an aggressive defense to obtain dropped or reduced charges.

Contact a Karnes County Gun Charges Attorney

If you face a firearm offense or other weapons charge, do not wait any longer to enlist the help of a skilled criminal defense lawyer. Barrera, Cavazos & Powers is ready to fight for you. To contact a Karnes City weapons charges attorney, call BCP Law at 830-769-1010. We also serve clients in Wilson County, Floresville, Frio County, and Pearsall.

Back to Top