Jourdanton, Texas Family Violence Lawyers | Atascosa County Domestic Assault Attorneys

location1433 3rd St, Floresville, TX 78114


Jourdanton, Texas Family Violence Lawyers

Floresville domestic violence attorney

Attorneys for Clients Who Face Domestic Violence Charges in Atascosa County and Frio County

The Texas Family Code classifies family violence as an act perpetrated by a family or household member with the intention of inflicting physical harm, assault, or bodily injury or a threat that causes the victim to fear imminent harm. The alleged assailant must be related to the victim, currently or previously in a relationship with them, or a resident of the same home.

With upward of 200,000 family violence incidents reported in Texas each year, it is a problem that impacts one in three Texans during their lifetime and that touches every demographic. Unfortunately, a large number of family violence charges are based on false allegations. For instance, while around 25 percent of all divorces involve claims of family violence, in extremely contentious divorce proceedings, one spouse sometimes alleges abuse to sway court decisions regarding child custody, visitation, and other matters.

It is impossible to overstate the seriousness of family violence charges. A conviction can bring jail time, expensive fines, and a lasting impact on your everyday life, including your long-term employability and negative repercussions in divorce and child custody hearings. At BRCK Criminal Defense Attorneys, whether you face misdemeanor or felony charges, we deliver an aggressive defense designed to protect your rights and get results. Our attorneys include judges and former prosecutors whose experience you can depend on as we pursue a favorable resolution to your case.

Family Violence in Texas

The State of Texas has three different classifications for family violence:

  • Assault Family Violence: Involves causing or threatening bodily injury, or causing physical contact that a victim considers offensive or provocative. If charged as a Class A misdemeanor, it is punishable by up to a year in jail and a $4,000 fine. If charged as a third-degree felony as a repeat offender, it is punishable between two and 10 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.
  • Aggravated Assault Family Violence: Involves actions that directly cause serious bodily injury or the use or display of a deadly weapon while committing assault, including threats perceived as offensive. When charged as a second-degree felony, it carries between two and 20 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine. If charged as a first-degree felony because a deadly weapon was used, it is punishable between five and 99 years in prison and the same fine.
  • Continuous Violence Against the Family: May be charged if an individual faces two or more family violence allegations within one year, either filed by the same person or different individuals. Carries third-degree felony penalties, with up to 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.

Fighting family violence charges requires adept legal representation. With more than 40 years of combined criminal law experience, that is exactly what BRCK Criminal Defense Attorneys provide. Whatever charge you face, we know what it takes to secure the best possible result.

Family Violence Defense

According to Texas law, an act of family violence is one that is intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly inflicted on the victim. Far too often, individuals who simply defend themselves end up being the one charged, while the actual aggressor does not face the consequences. If your actions were accidental, misinterpreted, in self-defense, or completely fabricated by your accuser, we will illustrate that to the court and seek dropped or reduced charges. The facts of your case will dictate the best course of action.

Contact a Frio County Family Violence Attorney

At BRCK Criminal Defense Attorneys, we understand the magnitude of domestic violence allegations and the stress that comes with them. Let us serve as your legal advocate and help you through this difficult time. Contact a 24/7 Pearsall domestic violence lawyer at 830-769-1010. We also serve clients in Wilson County, Floresville, Karnes County, and Karnes City.

Back to Top