Free Consultation 24/7

Call Us830-769-1010

1433 3rd St, Floresville, TX 78114

Atascosa County First DWI Defense Lawyers

Karnes County drunk driving defense lawyer

Attorneys for First-Time Drunk Driving Arrests in Wilson County and Frio County

A lifetime of good driving habits and a clean criminal record can be nullified in an instant if you are arrested for driving while intoxicated. With an average of 36 individuals either injured or killed each day in drunk driving accidents in Texas, DWI laws are strictly enforced by police and stringently pursued in the legal system.

The vast majority of people pulled over for DWI are first-time offenders, and DWI charges are frightening for those who face the potential repercussions. Thoughts of jail time, expensive fines, and driver's license suspension are overwhelming, which is why you need an experienced, skilled, and aggressive DWI defense team in place as soon as possible.

With attorneys who possess more than 40 years of combined criminal law experience, including criminal law judges and former DWI prosecutors, Barrera, Cavazos & Powers delivers the diligent legal representation you need. We will protect your rights and exhaust every possible option so you can avoid a DWI conviction and the hardships that often come as a result.

DWI Penalties for First-Time Offenders in Texas

Driving while intoxicated is generally charged as a Class B misdemeanor in Texas. Punishment for a first DWI offense may include:

  • A fine of up to $2,000;
  • Incarceration between three and 180 days;
  • Driver's license suspension up to two years;
  • An annual fee of up to $2,000 to keep your license;
  • Ignition interlock device; and
  • DWI education programs.

These penalties can escalate if your blood-alcohol concentration test registers at .15 or above, if you had a minor under 15 years old in the vehicle with you, if you had an open alcohol container in the automobile, or if you were cited following an auto accident. Extreme DWI cases that involve serious bodily injury or death are charged as felonies and carry even more substantial fines and imprisonment.

At Barrera, Cavazos & Powers, we understand what you are going through as someone cited for DWI, and we will fight for you every step of the way as we seek dropped or reduced charges in your case. You can have peace of mind knowing there is an experienced and determined legal advocate on your side who puts your needs first.

DWI Conviction Alternatives

At Barrera, Cavazos & Powers, our goal is to lessen the effect of DWI charges on your daily life. One mistake should not destroy your career or ability to provide for your family, and we will pursue the necessary course of action to help ensure that does not occur.

Our attorneys are certified by the State of Texas to administer the three standard sobriety tests: the horizontal gaze nystagmus test, walk-and-turn test, and one-leg stand test. We can determine if an arresting officer correctly administered your test, and if proper procedure was not followed, we will request full dismissal of your charges.

Contact a Frio County DWI Lawyer

If you face first-time DWI charges, this is a critical juncture in your life. For the best possible outcome, you cannot leave anything to chance. Trust BCP Law to handle your DWI case. Contact a 24/7 Pearsall DWI attorney at 830-769-1010 to learn how we can help you today. We also serve clients in Wilson County, Floresville, Karnes County, and Karnes City.

Back to Top