Free Consultation 24/7

Call Us830-769-1010

1433 3rd St, Floresville, TX 78114

Jourdanton, Texas DWI Defense Lawyers

Frio County DWI Defense Lawyers

Criminal Attorneys for Drunk Driving Charges in Atascosa County

According to the Texas Department of Transportation, someone is injured or killed in an alcohol-related car accident every 20 minutes in the Lone Star State. A recent 10-year study found that more than 13,000 people died in drunk driving accidents in Texas, as death rates in every age group surpassed the national average.

Because of these tragic statistics, it is no surprise that penalties for driving while intoxicated in Texas are among the toughest in the country. A DWI conviction can severely affect an individual's daily life and their ability to make a living. If you face DWI charges, it is critical to secure an experienced DWI attorney like those at BCP Criminal Defense Attorneys, where criminal judges and former DWI prosecutors with more than 40 years of combined legal experience provide trusted legal counsel that gets results. We protect our clients' rights in pursuit of the best possible outcome, including dismissal, DWI diversionary programs, and sentencing alternatives.

DWI in Texas

Texas law states a driver can be charged with DWI if a blood-alcohol concentration test finds a .08 BAC or higher, a .04 BAC for commercial drivers, or any detected amount of alcohol for minors under 21. Also, a driver who demonstrates the loss of normal use of any of their mental or physical faculties may be charged.

DWI is generally charged as a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by up to six months in jail and a $2,000 fine, with minimum confinement of 72 hours. Possession of an open container of an alcoholic beverage at the time of the arrest results in an enhanced charge with at least six days in jail. Whether you are a first-time DWI or multiple DWI offender, you may face a license suspension of up to two years.

Other DWI offenses bring more serious charges, including:

  • A driver whose BAC registers .15 or more can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor with up to a year of incarceration and a $4,000 fine.
  • If a driver is cited for DWI with a passenger younger than 15 years old in the vehicle with them, it may be charged as a felony with a possible two-year jail sentence and $10,000 fine.
  • Drunk driving that results in serious bodily injury is charged as intoxication assault, which, as a Third-Degree felony, could bring between two and 10 years imprisonment and a $10,000 fine.
  • A DWI accident that causes the death of another person is considered intoxication manslaughter, a Second-Degree felony that includes up to 20 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.

As part of your DWI case, BCP Criminal Defense Attorneys will conduct a complete investigation to determine if police adhered to correct procedure, the reason for the initial traffic stop, the length of your detention, the proper use of standard field sobriety tests, and your BAC or blood draw test. Regardless of the offense charged, you can expect a skilled and aggressive DWI defense designed to reduce the impact on you, your financial well-being, and your future.

Alternatives to DWI Penalties in Texas

Everyone makes mistakes, and while DWI involves serious consequences, the attorneys at BCP Criminal Defense Attorneys can help you maintain the daily routine necessary to preserve your livelihood. This may include representing you at the Administrative License Revocation (ALR) hearing or obtaining an occupational driver's license for you that allows you to drive during your DWI license suspension or while awaiting trial. We will also help ensure your eventual eligibility for a full license reinstatement.

Contact a Wilson County DWI Attorney

With the right legal guidance, one unfortunate lapse in judgment does not have to devastate your life. With our tireless approach and diligent care, BCP Criminal Defense Attorneys can help you get through this difficult chapter. To learn how BCP Law can assist you today, contact a 24/7 Floresville DWI lawyer at 830-769-1010 to discuss your options. We also serve clients in Frio County, Pearsall, Karnes County, and Karnes City.

Back to Top