Free Consultation 24/7

Call Us830-769-1010

1433 3rd St, Floresville, TX 78114

Can You Receive Probation for a DWI in Atascosa County?

Posted on in DWI

Atascosa County DUI lawyer

Whether you are arrested for underage DWI, first-time DWI, or multiple DWIs, the penalties and impact on your daily life can be severe. Those convicted of DWI can have a hard time securing the job they want, getting loans, and other difficulties. When facing any DWI charge, it is critical to enlist the services of a skilled DWI lawyer who can fight for reduced or dropped charges.

Depending on your criminal record and the circumstances of your DWI charges, your attorney may be able to arrange probation, which is beneficial in many ways. 

DWI Probation for Adults

In DWI cases, an adult is anyone age 21 or older. Any adult convicted of DWI may be required to complete an alcohol education program and a 12-hour intervention program (32 hours for repeat offenders), in addition to a driver’s license suspension up to two years if it is a first-time offense.

If you receive probation instead, you will be expected to complete a 12-hour Alcohol Education Program class, unless the judge presiding over your case waives this requirement. If ordered to complete the program, official notice of completion must be sent to the Texas Department of Public Safety within 180 days of the original sentencing. If this does not occur, your driver’s license will be revoked, and you will have to pay an additional reinstatement fee.

Other probation terms are at the discretion of the judge. You could be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID), which will only allow your vehicle to start once you have completed and successfully passed a breathalyzer test, and which requires periodic breath tests while the vehicle is in operation. The judge could also order periodic urine samples to test for alcohol or drugs, or assign you to community service.

DWI Probation for Minors

Like many states, Texas has a zero-tolerance policy for minors caught drinking and driving, which means any amount of alcohol in the system can constitute DWI. A conviction can result in a one-year license suspension and a required 12-hour Alcohol Education Program. A judge has the ability to reduce the suspension to 90 days with the installation of an IID and assigned community service. 

Contact a Jourdanton DWI Lawyer

It is easy to feel helpless when you face a DWI charge, but the dedicated Pleasanton criminal defense attorneys at Barrera Cavazos & Powers are here to fight for you. To learn how BCP Law can help you today, call us at 830-769-1010.

Source:

https://www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/AlcoholRelatedOffenses.htm

Back to Top