Free Consultation 24/7

Call Us830-769-1010

1433 3rd St, Floresville, TX 78114

I Just Got Pulled Over; What Are the Possible Legal Consequences in Texas?

Posted on in Criminal Defense

Karnes City traffic ticket defense attorney

Seeing the red and blue flashing lights behind you is a situation that every driver hopes to avoid. You slow down, pull over to the side of the road, and hope that you do not receive a high-priced ticket. What many people fail to realize is that paying a large fee is not the only legal consequence of a traffic violation, and in many cases, even those who do not receive a ticket may still face penalties or consequences to their driving records.

What Is the “Point System?”

Every Texas traffic violation is put on record and has “points” attached to it. The more serious the violation, the higher the points. Unlike many states, Texas only has two categories of violations that determine the number of points. Any Texas or out-of-state traffic conviction will warrant two points added to the driver’s record and any Texas or out-of-state conviction resulting in a collision will result in three points. These numbers may sound low; however, even having two points on your record can translate to financial consequences such as higher insurance premium rates. 

What Is a Surcharge and When Can I Get One?

The term “surcharge” refers to fees that result from the conviction of certain traffic violations. More serious violations result in points being added to your record and a surcharge that will be required to be paid for three years after the date of conviction. While the prices may vary slightly, the following are baseline annual costs for serious convictions:

  • Driving without a license: $100

  • Driving with an invalid license: $250

  • No insurance: $250

  • Driving while intoxicated (DWI), first offense: $1,000

  • DWI (two or more offenses): $1,500

  • DWI with a BAC of .16 or higher: $2,000

What Can I Do If I Received a Traffic Ticket?

Those drivers who receive a traffic ticket in Texas have three options: plead guilty, plead no contest, or plead not guilty. If you plead guilty or no contest, you are still required to pay your ticket and fines. However, you may be able to negotiate lower fines or penalties as well as points off your driving record by taking a defensive driving class. This is not always an option, but it is worth looking into to help avoid exorbitant fees and penalty points. For those drivers who plead not guilty, they still have to present their case in front of a judge. This is much more difficult to accomplish; however, with the help of an experienced criminal defense lawyer, you may end up with no surcharges or points on your record.

Contact a Karnes City Traffic Violation Attorney 

Not only does receiving a traffic violation often result in a ticket, but it can also leave a permanent mark on your driving record, leading to higher insurance premiums and possible fines in the future. At Barrera, Cavazos & Powers, our firm includes judges and former traffic ticket prosecutors to have a well-rounded knowledge of the court system and the variables on which every issued ticket can be decided. If you have received a traffic violation, contact our Jourdanton, TX traffic ticket lawyers at 830-769-1010 for assistance.


Sources:

https://www.idrivesafely.com/dmv/texas/laws/points-system/

https://www.idrivesafely.com/dmv/texas/laws/traffic-tickets-and-violations/https://www.dps.texas.gov/driverlicense/drp.htm

 

 

 

Back to Top