Is Texas a Zero Tolerance State For Marijuana? | Texas
X

location1433 3rd St, Floresville, TX 78114

Search
Phone830-769-1010

Is Texas a Zero Tolerance State For Marijuana?

Posted on in Criminal Defense

TX defense lawyerTexas’ laws are particularly harsh when it comes to possession and use of illegal drugs such as marijuana. Although many states have revised laws in relation to marijuana, Texas has not. This immobility is unsurprising in consideration of Texas’ history as El Paso was the first U.S. city to make marijuana illegal. Texas remains rigid in its classification of marijuana as a controlled substance because of its mind-altering effects. As marijuana is defined by Texas law as a controlled substance – no matter how small the quantity if it is in your possession it is a crime.

However, Texas’ staunch approach to cannabis is incongruent with the viewpoints of modern Texans. A recent poll recorded that 60% of Texans supported the decriminalization of recreational cannabis use. Small steps were made towards this goal, as 2019 saw a law that allowed low THC oil use for a variety of medical conditions. This incremental change leaves room for improvement, as over half of Texas voters hope for more lenient laws.

Penalties for Possession

If you have been charged with possession of marijuana, it is important to note the quantity and type. Two or less ounces of weed can result in a misdemeanor charge punishable by 180 days in jail and a maximum fine of $2,000. If you have been charged with possession of hash or other concentrates in the amount of one gram or less, you face a felony charge punishable by up to two years in jail and a maximum fine of $10,000. Fine and incarceration penalties increase with the amount of marijuana, hash, or THC concentrates in your possession.

Marijuana Paraphernalia

In Texas, you may also be charged if you are in the possession of marijuana paraphernalia, although these charges tend to occur in addition to drug possession. First-time offenders face a misdemeanor charge with a maximum fine of $500. If you are caught with the intention to sell paraphernalia you will be charged with a misdemeanor punishable by one year in jail and a maximum fine of $4,000. If you are caught with the intent to sell paraphernalia to a minor you may face a felony charge punishable by up to two years in jail and a maximum fine of $10,000.

Contact a Karnes County Defense Attorney

If you have been charged with possession of marijuana, hash, THC, or paraphernalia, contact BRCK Criminal Defense Attorneys today. Our Karnes City, TX criminal defense attorneys are experienced in defending clients against criminal charges and employ a vigorous approach to your case. Call the phone number 830-769-1010 for a no-obligation, free consultation.

 

Source:

https://guides.sll.texas.gov/cannabis

Back to Top