Navigating a DUI or DWI Charge as a Minor in Wilson County | TX

location1433 3rd St, Floresville, TX 78114


Navigating a DUI or DWI Charge as a Minor in Wilson County

 Posted on September 13,2022 in DWI

texas underage drunk driver lawyerWith September nearly halfway over and school in full swing, minors must stay keenly aware of the seriousness of a DUI or DWI charge in Texas. If you operate a motor vehicle and are charged with a DUI or DWI, you must first understand the penalties for such an act. Additionally, Texas enforces a stringent zero-tolerance policy toward underage drinking and driving. If you are a minor charged with an alcohol-related crime, you may want to work with an experienced attorney who can advise you of your rights and help you defend yourself. 

Zero Tolerance for Driving Under the Influence 

It's critical to keep in mind that Texas has a strict zero-tolerance policy for underage drinking. This zero-tolerance policy means that most alcohol citations in Texas can affect your driving privileges, even if you are not driving a car. Acts that warrant an alcohol citation include trying to buy alcohol as a minor, lying about your age to try and buy alcohol, using a fake ID, consuming or possessing alcohol, and public intoxication. If you are charged with an alcohol-related criminal offense, your driver’s license may be suspended which makes it illegal for you to drive any vehicle.

The penalties for underage drinking in Texas are as follows:

·      1st offense: 30-day license suspension  

·      2nd offense: 60-day license suspension

·      3rd offense: 90-day license suspension

It goes without saying that having your license taken away at any age can have tremendously adverse effects on your life. 

Underage DUI/DWI Offenders

Underage drivers can face DUI charges for driving with any amount of alcohol in their system. If you are a minor living in Texas and you have been charged with a DUI under Texas’ zero tolerance laws, you face several serious penalties.  Here are the penalties for first-time offenders aged 16 or younger:

  • A fine up to $500.00

  • 20 to 40 hours of community service

  • Driver license suspension for 60-180 days

  • Mandatory alcohol awareness classes

According to the CDC, young drivers between the ages of 16-20 are 17 times more likely to die in a crash when they have a blood alcohol concentration of .08 percent than when they have not been drinking. Texas laws prohibiting intoxicated driving apply to individuals of any age. An underage person caught driving with a BAC of 0.08 percent or more can be charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI) and subject to adult DWI penalties. Individuals aged 17-21 years charged with DWI face a maximum fine of $2,000, up to 180 days in jail, and a one-year driver’s license suspension. 

Contact a Wilson County Underage DUI/DWI Lawyer

Stated plainly, a DUI or DWI conviction for a minor can have devastating life consequences, including loss of college and job opportunities, financial hardship for you and your family, jail time, and many other adverse outcomes. Contact the knowledgeable Floresville DWI defense attorneys at BRCK Criminal Defense Attorneys for help. Call us today at 830-769-1010 for a free consultation.




Share this post:
Back to Top