DWI Charges and Losing Your Driver’s License | Texas

location1433 3rd St, Floresville, TX 78114


Should I Worry About DWI Charges and Losing My Driver’s License?

 Posted on October 20,2023 in DWI

TX DWI lawyerAnyone facing driving while intoxicated or DWI charges should act quickly to prevent things from getting worse. At BRCK Criminal Defense Attorneys we understand that you may feel confused and overwhelmed. Perhaps getting behind the wheel was a lapse in judgment. The moment you realize your driver's license might be on the line, it can get downright nerve-wracking! You need a Texas DWI attorney who can help right away.

How Do DUIs and DWIs Differ?

A DUI is a Class C misdemeanor, while a DWI is a serious Class B misdemeanor charge. The Texas Penal Code defines driving while intoxicated as driving a vehicle in public when the driver has been drinking alcohol or another controlled substance, and their blood alcohol concentration or BAC is .08 or higher. You could end up in jail for up to six months and have to pay a $2,000 fine. It does not matter if this is your first DWI or not, you could have your license suspended for up to two years. 

How Can an Attorney Help Me Get My License Back?

After a DWI conviction, the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) may suspend your driver’s license. Generally, you will get a notice of suspension that you can use instead of your driver’s license for 40 days. After this time period, Texas will automatically suspend your license. To avoid having that happen your attorney should request that you have a hearing within 15 days of your arrest. If you do not take this step, DPS will suspend your license automatically. 

How Can I Reinstate My Suspended Driver’s License after a DWI?

After a conviction your license will be suspended for up to two years, depending on whether your conviction is for a felony or a misdemeanor DWI. Once this time period is over, you will need to meet some state and court requirements before your license can be reinstated:

  • Must complete an alcohol education program within six months of a DWI conviction
  • Must pay your fines and court costs
  • Must show proof of SR-22 insurance coverage (high-risk insurance coverage)

Schedule a Free Consultation with a Pleasanton DWI Defense Attorney

If you are charged with DWI, you need an  Atascosa County DWI defense lawyer who can help you through the legal process. At BRCK Criminal Defense Attorneys we have more than 50 years of experience in criminal law and can help you get your driver’s license back. Call 830-769-1010 for a free consultation. 

Share this post:
Back to Top