What To Do If You Have Been Charged with Domestic Violence | TX

location1433 3rd St, Floresville, TX 78114


What To Do If You Have Been Charged with Domestic Violence in Texas

 Posted on November 07,2022 in DWI

floresville criminal defense lawyerThe Texas Family Law Code categorizes family violence as an act committed by a family or household member that inflicts harm, assault, physical injury, or causes the person to fear impending harm. Criminal charges for domestic violence-related offenses can lead to jail time, steep fines, and permanent damage to your personal and professional reputation. 

If you were charged with committing acts of family violence, it is imperative to consider reaching out to a knowledgeable family violence attorney with experience in such cases. 

Family Violence in Texas

Regardless of whether you are facing misdemeanor or felony charges, accusations of family violence must be taken very seriously. Not only can a family violence conviction bring prison time and enormous fines, but it can also have a lasting impact on your ability to be employed, as well as negative consequences in child custody or divorce hearings. 

In Texas, there are three different categorizations for family violence. These include:

  • Assault Family Violence – This is when someone is causing or threatening to cause physical injury or initiating physical contact with someone that the person being physically contacted may consider offensive or provocative. If you are being charged with a Class A misdemeanor, you may be punished with up to a year in jail and a fine as high as $4,000. If charged with a third-degree felony, you can be punished by serving between two and 10 years in jail as well as a fine of no more than $10,000.

  • Aggravated Assault Family Violence – This form of family violence encompasses actions that explicitly cause serious physical injury or the usage or presentation of a lethal weapon while committing the act of assault. This includes any threats that are perceived as offensive. If charged with a second-degree felony, the punishment can be between two and 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.

  • Continuous Violence Against the Family – If someone is accused of family violence more than two times in a single year, either filed by the same person or a different person, this carries the designation of a third-degree felony, which can land the accused in prison for up to 10 years and a fine of $10,000.

Contact a Jourdanton Family Violence Attorney

Allegations of family violence are of the utmost seriousness. Your name and reputation may very well be on the line. To protect your rights and grant you the most favorable outcome of your case, call the highly experienced Floresville family violence lawyers at BRCK Criminal Defense Attorneys. Call 830-769-1010 for a free consultation.





Share this post:
Back to Top