What to Know About Marijuana in Texas | TX

location1433 3rd St, Floresville, TX 78114


What to Know About Marijuana in Texas 

 Posted on January 10,2023 in Criminal Defense

Atacosa County drug crime defense attorneyIt is without a doubt that feelings, beliefs, and policies towards marijuana are changing rapidly across the country. While many states are choosing to legalize the substance, the federal government still classifies it as a Schedule I drug and it remains, therefore, federally illegal. While it is true that many states are changing their tone regarding marijuana, one state that has yet to change its tone is Texas. In Texas, illegal drugs such as marijuana, are considered to be a controlled substance. As a result, in Texas, possessing marijuana is a crime, regardless of how small the amount. 

If you live in Texas and have been charged with a marijuana-related offense, please understand that Texas takes all marijuana-related offenses with the utmost seriousness. As a result, you would be wise to contact a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney to help ensure your rights remain protected and a positive outcome can be achieved in your case. 

Penalties for Marijuana Possession

When it comes to Marijuana possession in Texas, what matters most is the specific quantity of what you possessed at the time of your arrest, as well as the type of marijuana. For instance, if you were arrested for possessing two or less ounces of marijuana, this is a misdemeanor offense, which can land you in jail for up to 180 days with a fine of up to $2,000. If you are arrested and possess one gram or less of hash or another form of marijuana concentrate, this escalates the charge to the lowest class of felony, which can carry a jail sentence of up to two years and a fine of up to $10,000. It is important to understand that penalties for possession increase depending on how much marijuana you possessed, and whether it was marijuana flower, or a THC concentrate like hash. 

Penalties for Marijuana Paraphernalia 

Aside from the possession of the actual marijuana, you may also be charged with possessing marijuana paraphernalia. These types of charges tend to occur along with possession of the actual drug. For a first time charge of possessing marijuana paraphernalia, this is a misdemeanor charge which can levy fines of $500. However, if you are caught with marijuana paraphernalia with the intention of selling the paraphernalia, while this too is a misdemeanor charge, it levies increased penalties, such as up to one year in jail and fines up to $4,000. Selling paraphernalia to a minor is considered a felony, which can land you in jail for up to two years with a potential fine of $10,000.

Contact an Atascosa County Drug Crimes Defense Attorney

Remember that although more states are becoming lenient with marijuana, Texas is not one of them. If you are arrested and charged for a marijuana-related offense, do not hesitate to contact the astute Jourdanton drug lawyers with BRCK Criminal Defense Attorneys. Call 830-769-1010 today for a free consultation.


Source: https://guides.sll.texas.gov/cannabis

Share this post:
Back to Top