4 Weapons Charges That You Should Be Aware Of In Texas | Atascosa County Criminal Defense Attorney

Contact Us 24/7Call Now

Call Us830-769-1010

1433 3rd St, Floresville, TX 78114

4 Weapons Charges That You Should Be Aware Of In Texas

Posted on in Criminal Defense

Jourdanton criminal defense attorney weapons charges

Firearms have always been a point of contention. Many value their right to own and carry a gun while others see this Second Amendment right as a threat to society. There are a number of weapon laws that are fairly well known, like needing a license to carry a gun and avoiding particular locations, such as schools or hospitals, while carrying a weapon. However, there are also weapon laws that you may not know about. Being fully informed on Texas gun legislation is critical not only for gun owners but all Texans. By understanding the ins and outs of these weapon regulations, you can exercise your Second Amendment rights while also abiding by the law. Failure to do so can lead to criminal charges and serious penalties, including significant time behind bars.

1. Prohibited Weapons

Just because you have a valid weapons license does not mean that you legally have access to any weapon of your choosing. There are a number of weapons that are strictly prohibited in Texas. Anyone who intentionally or knowingly possesses, manufactures, repairs, sells, or transports any of the following weapons is breaking the law: an explosive weapon, a machine gun, a short-barrel firearm, armor-piercing ammunition, a chemical dispensing device, a zip gun, a tire deflation device, a firearm silencer, and an improvised explosive device.

2. Unlawful Transfer

There are strict regulations regarding weapon ownership and the transfer of ownership. It is against the law to rent, sell, lease, or loan a handgun to someone who you know is going to use it unlawfully or commit a crime with the weapon. It is also illegal to provide a weapon in any way to a minor or to someone who is intoxicated. Those who have been convicted of a felony or are restricted by an active protective order cannot be given access to a firearm either.

3. Interstate Purchases

If you are registered as a Texas resident and receive your gun license in Texas, your firearm purchases are restricted to the state. Texas residents must purchase ammunition, firearms, firearm accessories, or reloading components in Texas. 

4. Firearm Accessibility to a Child

Anyone under the age of 18 is considered a child by law. Since you must be at least 18 years old to gain valid firearms licensing and purchase a gun, it is unlawful for any adult to provide a child with access to a firearm. If a child gains access to a readily dischargeable firearm and the adult failed to secure the firearm or left the weapon in a place in which the child could gain access to the weapon, the adult can face criminal charges.

Contact a Karnes County Weapons Defense Lawyer

The laws listed above are just four in-depth examples of the many weapons laws that exist in Texas legislation. While it may be difficult to remember the details of every law, it is imperative that you understand regulations to avoid facing serious criminal charges. Our BCP Criminal Defense Attorneys have defended Texans in every area of criminal law, including weapons charges. No matter what charges you may be facing, the quality of your legal defense team can change the outcome of your case. With more than 40 years of combined experience and a proven track record of winning, our Karnes City weapons defense attorneys are prepared to take on your case. For help with your defense, call our firm today at 830-769-1010 to schedule a free consultation.

 

Source:
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/PE/htm/PE.46.htm

 

Back to Top