What Are the Grades of Theft in Texas? | Jourdanton Theft Defense Lawyer
X

Contact Us 24/7Call Now

Call Us830-769-1010

1433 3rd St, Floresville, TX 78114

What Are the Grades of Theft in Texas?

Posted on in Criminal Defense

atascosa county criminal defense lawyerThe Atascosa County Sheriff’s Office said they recently broke up a theft ring after stopping two men who allegedly stole a mower. Deputies arrested and charged them with theft of property over $30,000. Since the item in question had such a high value, it seems to imply the theft was more egregious than stealing something of lesser value. It begs the question what are the grades of theft?

Theft in Texas

The law defining “theft” in Texas is relatively simple. You commit theft when you unlawfully take property from its owner, or when you accept property knowing that it was stolen. The punishment for theft varies depending on the value of the item stolen, the item itself, your criminal history, and the victim. 

Misdemeanor Theft

  • Theft of property valued at less than $100 is a Class C misdemeanor and could result in a $500 fine. 

  • Theft of property valued at $100 to $750 is a Class B misdemeanor and could result in 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine. 

  • If you have a prior theft conviction and stole property valued at $100, it is a Class B misdemeanor as well. 

  • And, theft of a state-issued ID like a driver’s license is also a Class B misdemeanor. 

  • Theft of property valued between $750 to $2,500 is a Class A misdemeanor and could result in one year in jail and a $4,000 fine. 

Felony Theft

  • Theft of property valued between $2,500 to $30,000 is a state jail felony and could result in 180 days to two years in jail and a fine up to $10,000. 

  • Theft of property valued between $30,000 to $150,000 is a third-degree felony and could result in two to 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine. 

  • Theft of property valued between $150,000 to $300,000 is a second-degree felony and could result in two to 20 years in prison and a $10,000 fine. This also includes stealing the money from an ATM machine or an ATM machine itself; 

  • And, theft of property valued at more than $300,000 is a first-degree felony, which could result in five to 99 years in prison and a $10,000 fine. 

Contact an Atascosa County Criminal Defense Attorney Today

If you have been charged with any degree of theft, you will need an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side. The Jourdanton theft defense lawyers at BCP Criminal Defense Attorneys can help you build a solid defense against criminal charges. To schedule a free consultation, call our office today at 830-769-1010.

Sources: 

https://www.ksat.com/news/local/2021/06/27/2-men-arrested-in-atascosa-county-theft-ring-operation-deputies-say/

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/PE/htm/PE.31.htm

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/PE/htm/PE.12.htm#:~:text=12.35.,or%20less%20than%20180%20days

 

Back to Top