What Are the Consequences of DWI Charges as a Texas Commercial Driver? | Atascosa County Criminal Defense Attorney

Contact Us 24/7Call Now

Call Us830-769-1010

1433 3rd St, Floresville, TX 78114

What Are the Consequences of DWI Charges as a Texas Commercial Driver?

Posted on in DWI

Atascosa County drunk driving defense attorney

In addition to a standard driver’s license, Texas truck drivers must go through significant training to obtain the proper license to drive commercial vehicles. Understanding the dangers that they can pose to other drivers is important for commercial truck drivers, especially since their livelihood depends on their ability to drive safely. One of the stricter regulations that commercial drivers face is the legal limit for blood alcohol tolerance. Operating a vehicle with a 0.08 percent blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is strictly forbidden for all Texas drivers, but commercial drivers have an even lower legal limit at 0.04 percent. Charges of driving while intoxicated (DWI)can threaten a commercial driver’s ability to keep their license and support their family.

Commercial Driving Regulations

In order to keep everyone safe on the road, there are a number of regulations that commercial drivers must follow, including those that are related to the driver’s work behind the wheel and their health. There a variety of operating rules that outline what a commercial driver can and cannot do on the road. For instance, when trucks drive in-line with each other, they must leave enough space for another car to merge between them if necessary. Commercial drivers must also stop at all railroad crossings, even if there is no stop sign telling them to do so. In regards to their personal health, commercial drivers must have vision better than 20/40, and they cannot suffer from drug or alcohol addictions. This last requirement is a way for the state to try to reduce the number of intoxicated commercial drivers who may be behind the wheel.

What Are the Consequences of a DWI?

Driving while intoxicated by drugs or alcohol is one of the biggest dangers that truck drivers can pose to others on the road. While the 0.04 BAC limit applies while a driver is operating a commercial vehicle, these drivers can also face serious consequences if they are convicted of DWI while driving another vehicle with a BAC higher than 0.08. Truck drivers can immediately lose their commercial driver's license if they are convicted of DWI charges in either a commercial or passenger vehicle. A truck driver can lose their commercial license for at least one year for a first DWI offense, and they will have their commercial license revoked permanently for a second DWI offense. Drivers who are authorized to drive commercial vehicles that are placarded for hazardous materials will face a commercial license disqualification for at least three years for a first offense, and their commercial license will be revoked permanently for a second offense. These penalties may seem harsh, but they are meant to prevent drunk driving truck accidents that can cause serious injuries to the drivers and passengers of other vehicles. 

Contact a Floresville Criminal Defense Lawyer

Having your license revoked as a result of DWI charges can make your life difficult, and this is especially true for those who rely on driving as their livelihood. While motorists who lose their driver’s license may struggle to find transportation to meet their daily needs, those who lose their commercial driver's license will be unable to work in their field, and this can significantly impact their family's finances. Our BCP Criminal Defense Attorneys work aggressively to defend those who are facing such charges. We believe that you deserve a second chance, regardless of the circumstances. If you are facing DWI charges that threaten your commercial driver's license, contact our Wilson County DWI defense attorneys at 830-769-1010 to schedule a free consultation.

 

Sources:

https://www.dps.texas.gov/driverlicense/commercialmvdisqualifications.htm

https://www.dps.texas.gov/driverlicense/commerciallicense.htm 

https://www.dps.texas.gov/InternetForms/Forms/DL-7C.pdf

 

Back to Top