DWI - Page 6
X

location1433 3rd St, Floresville, TX 78114

Search
Phone830-769-1010

Posted on in DWI

Atascosa County DWI LawyerAn immediate concern for a lot of people following a DWI arrest is how am I going to continue to drive. I've got to go to work; I've got to take my kids to school; I need to run errands and go to the grocery store. For people who find themselves in this kind of situation, oftentimes, an occupational driver's license is the perfect solution. An Occupational driver's license is simply a court-ordered driver's license that allows you to drive during your suspension. These occupational drivers licenses aren't good for up to two years which is usually enough time to serve out your suspension as well as reobtain your regular Class-C Texas driver's license.

What are the benefits of an occupational license?

So the good news is that Texas has really loosened the restrictions regarding occupational driver's licenses. You can now quickly obtain one that will allow you to drive for work, school, run day to day errands like going to the grocery store. Additionally, these occupational driver's licenses can now be used in multiple counties. So if you need to travel for work, you can also use one of these for that.

What will happen if I get caught driving with a suspended license?

A lot of people after having their driver's licenses suspended continue to drive. They operate under the idea of look I'm going to risk it. I will drive very carefully and I will avoid police officers at all costs. We really don't recommend that and here's why. If you are caught driving on a suspended license, you risk being rearrested, going to the County Jail, having to repost your bond and even picking up additional charges. Even worse, when you finally do go to court for your driving while intoxicated case, it's going to look poorly upon you that the judge put imposition on your driver's license, and the first thing that you did was turn around and break that rule by continuing to drive.

...

Posted on in DWI

Atascosa County DWI LawyerSo generally in Texas, we think of driving while intoxicated cases as misdemeanors, and they usually are. However, there are two circumstances in which a DWI may be filed as a felony offense. The first can happen to anyone, whether you've never been in trouble for, whether you have never been arrested, whether you've never had a DWI, and that is DWI with a child passenger. Now, this is a situation in which an individual is charged with DWI with the additional factor of having a child under the age of 15 in the vehicle at the time of the offense. This is going to be a state jail felony and in Texas, state jail felonies can carry up to two years in the state jail facility with a minimum confinement of 180 days, and up to a ten thousand dollar fine.

Additional Felony DWI offenses

So the second time we see driving while intoxicated cases filed as felonies is on a third offense or more. So this is a situation in which somebody has two prior DWI convictions at the time of the DWI third arrest. Now, in Texas, DWI thirds are treated as felonies and they're treated very seriously. A third degree felony punishable by between two and ten years in prison, and up to a $10,000 dollar fine. Now, the judge and the prosecutor are going to take a special interest in your case if you have a DWI third. They're going to see it not as a one-time mistake but signs that an individual has a habitual problem with alcohol.

I've been charged with a felony DWI. What should I do now?

So while Texas always takes DWI charges seriously, felony DWI is a special category and they need to be treated with extra care. You need to retain experienced defense counsel as soon as possible. Give us a call, we have former DWI prosecutors on our staff. We know how to handle these cases and we can certainly help you if you find yourself in a similar situation.

Posted on in DWI

Wilson County dwi attorneySo in Texas we have a few different variations of the DWI statute. We have a DWI 1st, we also have a DWI 2nd, and then a DWI 3rd statute if you've been previously convicted of a DWI. We have a DWI open container, which is the offense if you have a can of beer or other opened container of alcohol in the vehicle with you. We have a DWI with a child passenger under the age of 15, as well as a DWI reserved for if you have a blood-alcohol concentration that is double the legal limit.

Which DWI charge is considered to be worse?

So generally speaking, just like any other crimes, felonies are treated more seriously than misdemeanors. In DWI statutes felonies are going to be things like DWI 3rd or more as well as DWI with a child passenger, as well as anything involving a DWI and injury to another driver.

Should I plead guilty if charged with a DWI?

So if you're charged with DWI, it might feel like you've got no options -- like you have to go to court and you have to plead guilty. It couldn't be any further from the truth. DWI is unique in that it is an opinion crime, meaning that you can be arrested solely on the opinion of the arresting officer. But look, officers are just like all of us. They're human; they make mistakes; they have good days; they have bad days. If a good attorney can point out the difficulties or maybe some of the mistakes the officer was facing that day, that could make the whole difference in your case.

...

Atascosa County drunk driving defense attorney

In addition to a standard driver’s license, Texas truck drivers must go through significant training to obtain the proper license to drive commercial vehicles. Understanding the dangers that they can pose to other drivers is important for commercial truck drivers, especially since their livelihood depends on their ability to drive safely. One of the stricter regulations that commercial drivers face is the legal limit for blood alcohol tolerance. Operating a vehicle with a 0.08 percent blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is strictly forbidden for all Texas drivers, but commercial drivers have an even lower legal limit at 0.04 percent. Charges of driving while intoxicated (DWI)can threaten a commercial driver’s ability to keep their license and support their family.

Commercial Driving Regulations

In order to keep everyone safe on the road, there are a number of regulations that commercial drivers must follow, including those that are related to the driver’s work behind the wheel and their health. There a variety of operating rules that outline what a commercial driver can and cannot do on the road. For instance, when trucks drive in-line with each other, they must leave enough space for another car to merge between them if necessary. Commercial drivers must also stop at all railroad crossings, even if there is no stop sign telling them to do so. In regards to their personal health, commercial drivers must have vision better than 20/40, and they cannot suffer from drug or alcohol addictions. This last requirement is a way for the state to try to reduce the number of intoxicated commercial drivers who may be behind the wheel.

...

Pleasanton DWI defense attorney

Underage drinking is a common occurrence across the United States. With kids starting college before turning 21, it can seem as if the legal drinking age becomes irrelevant as students move away from home to start their college careers. Movies and television shows attempt to normalize underage drinking, and although teens may buy into it, law enforcement does not. Minors can receive various criminal charges if they consume alcohol. These young adults may not recognize the severity of such offenses and how they can alter their future. Teaching your child about the possible charges that they can face for underage drinking and understanding the legal consequences is often the best way to deter them from consuming alcohol at a young age.

Common Offenses

When someone thinks of the various types of charges related to alcohol, drinking while underage and driving while intoxicated are often the two charges that come to mind. What many minors do not realize is that depending on the situation, they could face multiple charges at once for simply drinking a beer. The following are common offenses recognized by the Texas Department of Public Safety:

...
Back to Top